NYC – Spotted Pig – Awesome Burger & Fries

Spotted Pig

It’s surprisingly hard to find a decent burger; I personally can’t seem to locate one outside my own kitchen – until recently that is. I stopped in to the Spotted Pig a few weeks back, I’ve heard good things about their burger and decided to give it a try. Unlike many, I like my burgers (all meats actually) well done – I know it’s not the ‘ideal’ way to cook meat but that’s what I like. After waiting a little bit while enjoying my cocktail – the Pig’s signature kalamata martini, I am introduced to a large plate adorned with a hefty burger and overflowing with the skinniest shoe string fries. First, the burger – pretty simple yet quite well done, speaking of, it was flawlessly well done per my request. The patty was grilled and topped with blue cheese and nestled on a brioche bun with perfectly placed grill marks. The meat was flavorful and accentuated by the bun and cheese though some might think it a bit too potent – if you’re not a blue cheese lover, just ask that they leave it off. The highlight of the meal strangely enough were the fries, expertly sliced into teeny strings and seasoned with fried rosemary and garlic slivers, they were unexpectedly my favorite part of the meal and I would gladly order just the fries on my next return as a snack but be forewarned, they were a bit salty – this coming from someone who loves all things salty.

TIPS – 1. Go at off hours, the place is small and trendy so seats can be hard to come by, between 2pm and 6pm should be safe 2. Order your burger as you like it, their temps are spot on 3. Feel free to request cheese on the side or lite salt, the staff are very warm and happy to please.

The Spotted Pig

314 W 11th St # 1

New York, NY 10014-2369

(212) 620-0393

 

NYC Travel Tip – If you’re visiting New York and looking for a conveniently located hotel, consider the Thirty Thirty. I stayed at the 30/30 for New Years not long ago and found the hotel to be quite comfortable – best part was the kitchenette which is perfect for storing all the leftovers you’re bound to accumulate.

Compare rates at Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline

Leave a comment